Australia and New Zealand Acacia Woodland-Savanna

Two types of acacia woodlands and savanna exist, mulga and brigalow. Mulga (Acacia anuera) woodland and savanna are found in both Eastern and Western Australia. Vegetation in the mulga is often quite sparse and varies in its susceptibility to fire. Certain species within the mulga are fire dependent with hard, woody fruits and seeds (2). Brigalow (Acacia harpophylla) woodland and savanna, which form what is often referred to as the Brigalow Belt, roughly parallel the Queensland coastline up to the base of the Cape York Peninsula (28° 35' S up to 19° 15' S). Various species of eucalyptus are interspersed with brigalow and in some areas form patches of solid eucalypt woodland.

Exploring Australia's Rangelands

Brisbane Floods

Mulga Country

Woodland Encroachment