Australia and New Zealand Chenopod Shrubland

Dominantly spread through central Australia, the chenopod shrublands exist to a small extent in each of the five continental Australian states (New South Wales, Southern Australia, Western Australia, Northern Territory and Queensland) and include the Tirari-Sturt Stony Desert, the Simpson Desert and the Nullabor Plains. Chenopod shrub species are in the Chenopodiaceae family and dominate the landscape. Grasses grow with varying distributions throughout the shrublands. For example, in the floodplain areas of these regions ephemeral grass and forb species dominate, while swamp cane grass (Eragrostis australasica) persists in swamp like sections.

Brisbane Floods

Exploring Australia's Rangelands

The Dingo Fence